Premier League announces punishment for European Super League six

The English Premier League has confirmed that the six English clubs that secretly agreed to play in a European Super League (ESL) will pay a combined £22m fine.

This was disclosed in a statement signed by the Premier League and the Football Association on Wednesday afternoon.

The teams – Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham – have also agreed to a £25m fine and a potential 30-point deduction, if it happens again in future.

“As a gesture of goodwill, the clubs have collectively agreed to make a contribution of £22m, which will go towards the good of the game, including new investment in support for fans, grassroots football and community programmes,” the statement read in part.

It added that “the clubs have agreed to support rule changes so that any similar actions in the future would lead to a 30-point deduction.

“Each of the six clubs, in that event, would also be subject to an additional £25m fine.”

Earlier, six Premier League clubs alongside others including Real Madrid, Barcelona, Athletico Madrid, Juventus, Inter Milan, AC Milan announced plans to create a new European competition which will guarantee founding members a slot each year. Their plan leaves two slots for other qualifiers.

The plan was met with world wide outrage as fans accused the founding clubs of greediness and anticompetitive behavior.

Following the outrage, all six Premier League clubs eventually withdrew from the competition and offered apologies.


A writer! Columnist and an academic researcher
Back to top button